State Signing Requirement Statute
 Alabama 2 years (Section 8-1-190(b)(4)) Sections 8-1-190 to 8-1-197
 Alaska 2 years (Wirum & Cash Architects v. Cash (1992)) AS 45.50.910 to 45.50.945 (Alaska Uniform Trade Secrets Act)
 Arizona 3 years (Liss v. Exel Transp. Servs. (2007)) ARS 44-401 to ARS 44-407 (Uniform Trade Secrets Act)
 Arkansas 2 years (Ark. Code § 4-75-101(d)) Ark. Code § 4-75-101
 California *Indefinite period (*for non-disclosure and non-solicitation) Sections 16600-16607 (Business and Professions Code)
 Colorado
 Connecticut
 Delaware
 Florida
 Georgia
 Hawaii
 Idaho
 Illinois
 Indiana
 Iowa
 Kansas
 Kentucky
 Louisiana
 Maine
 Maryland
 Massachusetts
 Michigan
 Minnesota
 Mississippi
 Missouri
 Montana
 Nebraska
 Nevada
 New Hampshire
 New Jersey
 New Mexico
 New York
 North Carolina
 North Dakota
 Ohio
 Oklahoma
 Oregon
 Pennsylvania
 Rhode Island
 South Carolina
 South Dakota
 Tennessee
 Texas
 Utah
 Vermont
 Virginia
 Washington
Washington D.C. 2 years for the sale of a business (Deutsch v. Barsky, 795 A.2d 669 (D.C. 2002)) D.C. Law 23-209 (Ban on Non-Compete Agreements Amendment Act of 2020)
West Virginia
 Wisconsin
 Wyoming